Cellist Bion Tsang prepares next generation of cello virtuosos for one-of-a-kind recital at UT Austin’s Bates Recital Hall

FROM THE ARCHIVES — April 8, 2011 — Six years ago, award-winning cellist Bion Tsang performed all six Bach Suites for Unaccompanied Cello in one sitting at The University of Texas at Austin Butler School of Music. Performing any or all of Johann Sebastian Bach’s revered works for cello is a virtuosic accomplishment, an achievement that combines mastery, artistry, discipline and fortitude.

This month, Tsang is passing Bach’s torch to six of his current and former students, who will perform the Bach Suites in a single evening on Tuesday, April 19, 2011 at 7:30 p.m. at Bates Recital Hall. Cellists Nathan Harrenstein, Jun Jin, Samuel Converse Johnson, Francesco Mastromatteo, Jun Seo, and Jeffrey Wang will perform these monumental masterpieces for solo cello including:

1. Suite in G major, BWV 1007
2. Suite in D minor, BWV 1008
3. Suite in C major, BWV 1009
4. Suite in E-flat major, BWV 1010
5. Suite in C minor, BWV 1011
6. Suite in D major, BWV 1012

Tsang believes that performing Bach’s masterworks becomes a driving force for future success for these young musicians.

“I want my students to evoke a response from the audience that will fill them with inspiration they need to succeed for years to come,” says Prof. Tsang. “The growth these students have acquired by learning these Bach pieces is outstanding, and to perform them is to be affirmed as a musician and an artist.”